The National Council of State Tourism Directors (NCSTD) leverages the collective strength of state tourism offices to provide leadership and a forum for information sharing and education on issues impacting tourism. Representing all 50 states, the five U.S. territories and the District of Columbia, NCSTD serves its members by:

  • Providing a voice on critical public policy issues.
  • Offering learning opportunities to increase the professionalism and effectiveness of state tourism offices.
  • Driving internal and external communication.
  • Shaping and supporting coordinated domestic and international marketing efforts.

In addition to their usual U.S. Travel membership benefits, NCSTD provides programs and services specifically for the state tourism directors and their office personnel. These programs and services are designed to enhance professional development, address common state tourism issues, provide resources and other tools to help state tourism offices perform mission critical activities.


  • Offering learning opportunities to increase the professionalism and effectiveness of state tourism offices.
  • The newly created NCSTD Leadership Forum (held in the fall) provides programs and services specifically for the state tourism directors.?
  • Participating in valuable free ESTO marketing webinars all year-long.
  • Meet several times a year to enhance professional development, address common issues, provide resources and other tools to help state tourism offices perform mission critical activities.


  • NCSTD works to advance tourism and travel issues relevant to the state tourism office.
  • NCSTD members are represented on the U.S. Travel Board of Directors.
  • Leveraging the collective strength of the industry to influence policy on travel-related issues at Destination Capitol Hill, the U.S. travel industry’s notable legislative fly-in.


  • Gaining access to authoritative industry research on the latest travel trends and forecasts that affect marketing decisions.
  • Participating in the annual Mercury Awards, which showcase creative accomplishments in tourism marketing and promotion.
  • Nominating a colleague for the NCSTD State Tourism Director of the Year Award which recognizes excellence in marketing, promotion and individual leadership within the nominees' state.?
Board Members

Duane Parrish
Director, South Carolina Department of Parks, Recreation & Tourism

Vice Chair
Cathy Ritter
Director, Colorado Tourism Office

Immediate Past Chair
Jim Hagen
Secretary of Tourism, South Dakota Department of Tourism

Kevin Langston
Deputy Commissioner for Tourism, Georgia Dept. of Economic Development - Tourism Division
Lee Sentell
State Director, Alabama Tourism Department
Jillian Simpson
Alaska Travel Industry Association
Debbie Johnson
Director, Arizona Office of Tourism
Jim Dailey
Director, Arkansas Department of Parks & Tourism
Caroline Beteta
CEO, California Travel & Tourism Commission
Randall Fiveash
Director of Tourism, Connecticut Commission on Culture & Tourism
Elizabeth Keller
Director of Tourism, Delaware Tourism Office
Theresa Belpulsi
Vice President of Tourism & Visitor Services, Destination DC
Ken Lawson
Jon Nathan Denight
General Manager, Guam Visitors Bureau
George Szigeti
President & CEO, Hawaii Tourism Authority
Diane Norton
Tourism Manager, Idaho Department of Commerce, Division of Tourism
Cory Jobe
Director, Illinois Office of Tourism
Linda Craghead
Assistant Secretary, Kansas Wildlife, Parks and Tourism
Kristen Branscum
Commissioner, Kentucky Department of Tourism
Doug Bourgeois
Assistant Secretary, Louisiana Office of Tourism
Steve Lyons
Acting Director, Maine Office of Tourism
Liz Fitzsimmons
Executive Director, Maryland Office of Tourism Development
Francois-Laurent Nivaud
Executive Director, Massachusetts Office of Travel & Tourism
David Lorenz
Vice President, Travel Michigan, Michigan Economic Development Corp.
John Edman
Director, Explore Minnesota Tourism
Craig Ray
Director, Visit Mississippi
Ward Franz
Director, Missouri Division of Tourism
Sean Becker
Administrator, Montana Office of Tourism
John Ricks
Executive Director, Nebraska Tourism Commission
David Peterson
Interim Director, Nevada Division of Tourism
Victoria Cimino
Director, New Hampshire Division of Travel & Tourism Development
Jeffrey Vasser
Executive Director, New Jersey Travel & Tourism
Rebecca Latham
Cabinet Secretary, New Mexico Tourism Department
Ross Levi
Executive Director of Tourism, New York State Department of Economic Development
Wit Tuttell
Executive Director, Visit North Carolina
Sara Otte Coleman
Director, North Dakota Tourism Division
Matthew MacLaren
TourismOhio, Ohio Development Services Agency
Dick Dutton
Director, Travel Promotions Division, Oklahoma Tourism & Recreation Department
Todd Davidson
CEO, Travel Oregon
Carrie Fischer Lepore
Deputy Secretary, Pennsylvania Office of Travel, Tourism & Film
Brad Dean
CEO, Discover Puerto Rico
Mark Brodeur
Director of Tourism, Rhode Island Commerce Corporation
David Vaeafe
Executive Director, American Samoa Visitors Bureau
Kevin Triplett
Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Tourist Development
Brad Smyth
Director of Tourism, State of Texas, Office of the Governor, Economic Development and Tourism
Beverly Nicholson Doty
Commissioner, U.S. Virgin Islands Department of Tourism
Vicki Varela
Managing Director, Utah Office of Tourism, Film and Global Branding
Wendy Knight
Commissioner, Vermont Department of Tourism and Marketing
Rita McClenny
President and CEO, Virginia Tourism Corporation
Mike Moe
Associate Director, Washington Tourism Alliance
Chelsea A. Ruby
Commissioner, Wild, Wonderful West Virginia
Stephanie Klett
Secretary, Wisconsin Department of Tourism
Diane Shober
Executive Director, Wyoming Office of Tourism